Deactivate or delete a Location

If you close down one of your stores or warehouses, or you move location, you might want to deactivate or delete a location. We'll show you how in this article.

Locations are deactivated or deleted via your Shopify admin.

It's not possible to delete a location until you've deactivated it first.

It's not possible to deactivate (or delete) a location set as the 'default' location. Change your default location first.

How to deactivate a Location

  1. From your Shopify dashboard, click Settings, then Locations.
    Here you'll see a list of locations.

    deactivate_1.png
  2. Click the location you wish to deactivate.

  3. Scroll down to the 'Deactivate location' section and click Deactivate location.

    deactivate_2.png
  4. Confirm the deactivation.

    deactivate_3.png

How to delete a Location

After you have followed the above instructions to deactivate a location you are able to delete a location.

  1. Click the red Delete location button, which becomes available at the bottom of the page.

    deactivate_4.png
  2. Then you'll need to confirm the location deletion.

    deactivate_5.png
  3. The last thing you need to do is Resync your Locations in Addition so the app is made aware of this change.

Remember: if you Resync Locations in Addition any edits you've made to your locations in Addition previously will be lost.